The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 30, 2005, 08:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
You've been an NSA umpire for TEN YEARS and this never came up before?

Award is two bases (forward). It doesn't matter which direction the runner is heading when the ball goes out of play.

Since this was the first throw by an infielder, the award is based on the runners position AT TIME OF PITCH, which was first base (see NSA rule 8-5-E).

As you describe it, the runner would be awarded third.

And, yes, the runner is still obligated to re-touch first before completing his base award. (see NSA rule 8-1-K).

But if he doesn't re-touch before heading to third, he can only be called out on a proper appeal by the defense.

So, if he does go straight to third and no member of the defensive team says a word before the next pitch is thrown, play on.

[Edited by BretMan on Sep 30th, 2005 at 09:35 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1