The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2001, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Umpire judgment

Taking the play by the book & ignoring the umpire's call of "BALL GAME" is an umpire not facing the music for his mistake, IMO.

True, the players are in jeopardy of being appealed out if they do not complete the circuit of the bases (ASA 8-3-I).

However, the umpire in the situation described needs to consider if his erroneous call of "BALL GAME" placed the runners in jeopardy - i.e. whether they would have completed the circuit of the bases were it not for his call. To me, it appears that he did place the runners in jeopardy with an erroneous call and he must rectify that.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1