The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2001, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
"BALL GAME"

Runner R3 on 2B, batter has 1-ball, 1-strike, count, with two outs. The plate umpire calls the next pitch a strike, pumping the third strike. The runner R3 steps off the base and is tagged out by a defensive player. Is R3 out?

Bases loaded. 1 out. Umpire signals home run & tells the teams "ball game" after the RBI from third scores. The runners stop running, and the defense appeals for a force out to negate the winning run. Does the run score?

Speaking ASA, in both cases, ASA 10-6-C gives the umpire the choice of rectifying the situation if he thinks that the umpire's call placed the runners in jeopardy.

The correct action on the part of the umpire, IMO, would be to rectify the situation caused by his call of "BALL GAME."

True, he should not have said that, but he did, and it placed the offense in jeopardy.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1