The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 04, 2005, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 110
OK - Now I have a question....

Maybe this is a ASA/USSSA mechanics thing. I do USSSA, and at the clinic this year the Regional UIC told us that if we get and OBS let the play finish. IF the person was out - make the out call and then refer back to your obstruction.

Essentially

R1 is obstructed (extend left arm signaling the OBS) on way to 2B slides in and tagged out.

Call the out.

Re-establish the left arm OBS signal

Reverse the out and rule runner safe

Also, both instances previously mentioned have the umpire announcing a "Dead Ball". Why are we making this announcement? OBS does not stop the play from continuing and the ball remains live until play is stopped/time is called. Is this just another one of those mechanics things?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1