The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2005, 11:33am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Watching the USA vs. JAPAN game, in the early part of the game (bottom of 1st, or 2nd maybe), there was what appeared to be a clear OBS non-call at home. The batter hit a ball over F8's head, and R1 went back to 2B for a possible tag-up. R1 then proceeded to home, but was tagged out by F2. It looked to me as if F2 blocked home, then made the catch and tag, but got the out anyway.

Anyone else see this play? what was your call?

This play was in the same half inning as the Galindo grand-slam (which was a NICE slap!)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2005, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 566
I thought the same thing, the catcher was basically sitting on top of home waiting for the ball. Now, the ball did arrive a second before the runner did, but she was definately blocking the plate before she got the ball.

By the way, was that the first base umpire that made the call? It wasn't the plate umpire but one of the base umpires that called the out. I've never worked three or four-person mechanics so I'm not quite sure how the rotation would have worked on that play.
__________________
"Booze, broads, and bullsh!t. If you got all that, what else do you need?"."
- Harry Caray -
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2005, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Were they playing ISF or ASA rules???????
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2005, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by gsf23
I thought the same thing, the catcher was basically sitting on top of home waiting for the ball. Now, the ball did arrive a second before the runner did, but she was definately blocking the plate before she got the ball.
The runner was not impeded by a a defender without the ball. I thought it was close, but a good play.
Quote:

By the way, was that the first base umpire that made the call? It wasn't the plate umpire but one of the base umpires that called the out. I've never worked three or four-person mechanics so I'm not quite sure how the rotation would have worked on that play.
U3 went out on the fly ball. U4 comes inside to take 2B and a possible throw-back to 1B. U1 moves toward 3B for a possible call there and U2 heads home after U4 gets inside to pick-up the BR.

Routine rotation.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1