The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 08, 2005, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Really happened in a game here in Italy:

R1 on first. Pitch out and catcher try to pick-off R1.
Very strong throw that deflects on F4's glove and end in the first base dugout.
Umpires award R1 3rd base.
Do you agree?

A.
__________________
Antonella
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 08, 2005, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,560
If the umpire judges that F4 lost the ball trying to sweep a tag, it is just one base. Other than that, give her 3rd.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 09, 2005, 07:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Thanks for your reply.
Could you pls add a rule reference in the case you award the runner just ONE base?

A.

P.S. Even ASA rule would ok to me.
__________________
Antonella
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 09, 2005, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by Antonella
Thanks for your reply.
Could you pls add a rule reference in the case you award the runner just ONE base?

A.

P.S. Even ASA rule would ok to me.
Well, the best I can do is the lowly ASA rule.

ASA 8-5-G EXCEPTION-1
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1