The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 01, 2005, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by Topshelf1227
ASA rules high school softball...

when the infield fly is in effect, as soon as it is called can the runners run? There seems to be a disagreement on this in that on e belief is that after the infield fly is ruled, if the ball is then caught, the runner can be doubled up if they aren't on the base. The other opinion is that once the infield fly is called, it is assumed a catch has been made and the runners can advance (as soon as the call of infield fly is made, they don't have to wait until the ball is actually caught or not) with liability of being put out. Is it true that if a runner leaves second as soon as the infield fly is called they can be called out for leaving the base before the "catch"?
Never heard this before. Never assume anything. You are not calling IFR because the ball
has been caught, you call it when ball reaches its apex and all other aspects of the IFR
are met.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1