The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 28, 2005, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by CecilOne
Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Quote:
Originally posted by CecilOne
I'm pretty sure Scott's explanation applies to all rules, not just ASA.
CecilOne,

Under the Playing Rules & Points Of Emphasis Index Section of the ASA Rule Book,
it is listed as DROPPED THIRD STRIKE....... FP.
If the catcher never touches it ("fails to catch the third strike before the ball touches the ground"), may the batter run?

[Edited by CecilOne on May 28th, 2005 at 01:59 PM] [/B]
Speaking ASA

The rule doesn't say anything about a "dropped" third strike. It states just as you noted, "fails to catch". Rule 8.1.B.2 includes the sentence, "This is call the third strike rule."
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1