| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by CecilOne 
 
	If the catcher never touches it ("fails to catch the third strike before the ball touches the ground"), may the batter run?Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by whiskers_ump 
 
	CecilOne,Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by CecilOne I'm pretty sure Scott's explanation applies to all rules, not just ASA.
 
 |  
 Under the Playing Rules & Points Of Emphasis Index Section of the ASA Rule Book,
 it is listed as DROPPED THIRD STRIKE.......  FP.
 
 |  
 [Edited by CecilOne on May 28th, 2005 at 01:59 PM] [/B]
 |  Speaking ASA
 
The rule doesn't say anything about a "dropped" third strike.  It states just as you noted, "fails to catch".  Rule 8.1.B.2 includes the sentence, "This is call the third strike rule."
		 
				__________________The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
 |