The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA rule on dropped third strike (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/20577-asa-rule-dropped-third-strike.html)

coolhand Fri May 27, 2005 07:13am

Can someone clarify the dropped third strike rule for ASA. Our league adopted ASA rules but have not supplied us with rule books. Every umpire we have had so far has had a different rule. After the catcher drops the third strike some umpires will call the batter out if they make a move towards the dugout others will call the batter out after she leaves the batters box and makes a move towards the dugout. Some will not call the batter out until she is tagged or thrown out or enters the dugout. Which if any are correct? Does anyone know how the rule is written?

Thanks

scottk_61 Fri May 27, 2005 07:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by coolhand
Can someone clarify the dropped third strike rule for ASA. Our league adopted ASA rules but have not supplied us with rule books. Every umpire we have had so far has had a different rule. After the catcher drops the third strike some umpires will call the batter out if they make a move towards the dugout others will call the batter out after she leaves the batters box and makes a move towards the dugout. Some will not call the batter out until she is tagged or thrown out or enters the dugout. Which if any are correct? Does anyone know how the rule is written?

Thanks

The dropped 3rd stilke rule is rough for people who don't understand but easy once you think through it.
If the pitch is uncaught, it doesn't have to be dropped, and is called a strike, then:

If 1st base is unoccupied with one or no outs
Or if 1st base is occupied with two outs
The batter may try to get to first before being put out with either a tag or a throw to first for a force out.

The batter-runner is not out until "put out" due to a tag or the force play at first
Or if the batter enters dead ball area, ie the dug out

There is also the issue of the pitch hitting the ground before reaching the plate and the batter swining at it, this is also the dropped 3rd strike or as we say it D3K.

Hope this helps

AtlUmpSteve Fri May 27, 2005 07:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by coolhand
Some will not call the batter out until she is tagged or thrown out or enters the dugout. Which if any are correct? Does anyone know how the rule is written?

Thanks

That (the one quoted) is correct according to the rules.

mcrowder Fri May 27, 2005 07:55am

It's scary how badly this is called sometimes. One of my best umpires said, after the batter froze for a moment, "She's Out! Any hesitation and she gives up her right to run." Luckily, I was there to hear this, and had a conversation after the game.

Basically, this batter is a runner until she's put out.

CecilOne Fri May 27, 2005 12:21pm

I'm pretty sure Scott's explanation applies to all rules, not just ASA.

U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K
U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K
U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K
U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K
U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K

whiskers_ump Fri May 27, 2005 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
I'm pretty sure Scott's explanation applies to all rules, not just ASA.

U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K
U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K
U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K
U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K
U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K U3K

CecilOne,

Under the <b>Playing Rules & Points Of Emphasis Index Section of the ASA Rule Book,</b>
it is listed as <b>DROPPED THIRD STRIKE....... FP.

streamdoc Fri May 27, 2005 02:54pm

for clarification
 
While the post, and replies address ASA, is the FED rule slightly different? I read the FED rule to allow the BR to run with "2 outs" regardless of whether or not 1st base is occupied, and with less than 2 outs only if 1st is unoccupied. Is that correct? If so, why the difference between the 2 sets of rules?

Ed Maeder Fri May 27, 2005 02:59pm

Both rules are the same. Just a typo. With two outs first can be occupied or not occupied. ASA and NFHS

CecilOne Sat May 28, 2005 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
I'm pretty sure Scott's explanation applies to all rules, not just ASA.

CecilOne,

Under the <b>Playing Rules & Points Of Emphasis Index Section of the ASA Rule Book,
it is listed as <b>DROPPED THIRD STRIKE....... FP.</b>

Glen,
[/b]If the catcher never touches it ("fails to catch the third strike before the ball touches the ground"), may the batter run?

[Edited by CecilOne on May 28th, 2005 at 02:06 PM]

IRISHMAFIA Sat May 28, 2005 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
Quote:

Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Quote:

Originally posted by CecilOne
I'm pretty sure Scott's explanation applies to all rules, not just ASA.

CecilOne,

Under the <b>Playing Rules & Points Of Emphasis Index Section of the ASA Rule Book,
it is listed as <b>DROPPED THIRD STRIKE....... FP.</b>

If the catcher never touches it ("fails to catch the third strike before the ball touches the ground"), may the batter run?

[Edited by CecilOne on May 28th, 2005 at 01:59 PM] [/B]
Speaking ASA

The rule doesn't say anything about a "dropped" third strike. It states just as you noted, "fails to catch". Rule 8.1.B.2 includes the sentence, "This is call the third strike rule."

CecilOne Sat May 28, 2005 01:19pm

Quote:

If the catcher never touches it ("fails to catch the third strike before the ball touches the ground"), may the batter run?

[Edited by CecilOne on May 28th, 2005 at 01:59 PM] [/B]
Speaking ASA

The rule doesn't say anything about a "dropped" third strike. It states just as you noted, "fails to catch". Rule 8.1.B.2 includes the sentence, "This is call the third strike rule." [/B][/QUOTE]It is a rhetorical question.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1