The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 21, 2005, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
There are really two aspects involved:
- which base the runner would have reached w/o obstruction
- where the runner was out out

This time, the judgement was that the runner would not have reached 2nd even w/o obstruction and it is clear the runner was put out between 1st and 2nd.

The phrase "B1 alters path to round on outside of bag or on orange part of double first base" might be the key. If the BR "alters path to round", then I could think OBS from going to 2nd. If the BR altered to "orange part of double first base" just to reach and overrun 1st w/o immediately turning toward 2nd, then I could think the OBS is before 1st.

If OBS between 1st and 2nd, runner gets awarded 1st because of the "not put out" aspect. If OBS before 1st, runner is out.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1