The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 12:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 284
On a called IFF, R1, on 2B, bumps F5 on her way to 3B. F5, trying to make the play on the IFF, did not subsequently catch the fly...
We have the BR out on the IFF and R1 out for interference?
__________________
Chuck Lewis
Ronan, MT

Give a man a fish and you'll feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he could be gone every weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 12:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally posted by Just Curious
On a called IFF, R1, on 2B, bumps F5 on her way to 3B. F5, trying to make the play on the IFF, did not subsequently catch the fly...
We have the BR out on the IFF and R1 out for interference?
Sounds right to me. A few of those, and you can go home early.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 12:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 189
Didnt really matter if she caught it, but yes its still INT and therfore an out.
Dont make this difficult for yourself. Its treated like any other fly ball for the BRs and the batter is out whether caught or not.
Be sure to let this play finish, cause players and coaches dont get it and scream all sorts of wierd stuff that can make it a complicated play. Dont call time til your sure its over so the correct calls can be made.




__________________
Wearing the uniform doesnt make you an official
anymore than going to McDonalds
makes you a hamburger.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 01:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally posted by rhsc
Be sure to let this play finish, cause players and coaches dont get it and scream all sorts of wierd stuff that can make it a complicated play. Dont call time til your sure its over so the correct calls can be made.
I liked what you said here, 'cause I'm always jumping the gun it seems... (Too many years of basketball) However, the way that I read this, to me, it implies that everything will come to a screaching halt on an interference call with the ball becoming dead... Am I interpreting this incorrectly or did you intend your statement to imply something different?

Rule 5 Dead Ball and Suspension of Play
SECTION 1 DEAD BALL
ART. 1 . . . Ball becomes dead immediately when:
e. there is interference by a runner or a retired runner (7-3-5; 8-1-2a; 8-2-5, 6; 8-4-1f; 8-6-10; 11, 12, 14, 18) or by any person (3-5-4, 5; 8-6-16, 17, 19).
__________________
Chuck Lewis
Ronan, MT

Give a man a fish and you'll feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he could be gone every weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 02:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Anytime a runner interferes in anyway with a fielder fielding a batted ball its an immediate dead ball.out. Could be two also, and intent has nothing to do with it.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 03:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 189
Quote:

I liked what you said here, 'cause I'm always jumping the gun it seems... (Too many years of basketball) However, the way that I read this, to me, it implies that everything will come to a screaching halt on an interference call with the ball becoming dead... Am I interpreting this incorrectly or did you intend your statement to imply something different?

[/B]
You got it dead on the money, exactly what I meant.
__________________
Wearing the uniform doesnt make you an official
anymore than going to McDonalds
makes you a hamburger.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 03:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
Sounds right but
Where did the ball end up and was it touched ?
What if the interference was up the third base line in foul territory ?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by debeau
Sounds right but
Where did the ball end up and was it touched ?
What if the interference was up the third base line in foul territory ?
The thread is based on a given scenario. Hijacking a thread or changing the offered scenario often causes confusion and is more likely to muddy the waters than provide a clear, concise answer.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
Ok Ok and a fair enough coment .
I take it then Irishmafia you will be not answering any hijacked threads .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1