The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2005, 12:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
This one was presented to me by an umpire working a Middle School game using Federation Rules.

R1 on first, steals second as B1 takes her second strike, throw from F2 gets past F4 and R1 heads to third. PU moves up the line and has a 'safe' call at 3rd. PU goes back to the plate, next pitch is strike 3. Batter says that's her first strike, that she just came to the plate. Turns out B1 thought she already had 3 strikes and went to dugout during the steal. What do you have?


I have B1 with 2 strikes (no memtion of ball count) and R1 safe at 3B.

Maybe she went to change bats. Call her back, she is entitled to finish
her at bat. You would not aware 1B if it was only ball three.

__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2005, 06:45am
softball_junky
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: NCAA note.

Using the original sitch and this interpretation, B1 (with two strikes) would merely be a footnote in the scorebook. [Neither out, nor batting] B2 has one strike and the game proceeds.

This doesn't seem right. Then anytime you get two strikes, go to the dugout and bring the next batter out. I feel you have to count the strike out. Next batter up no count.








Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2005, 07:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 298
Re: Re: NCAA note.

Quote:

This doesn't seem right. Then anytime you get two strikes, go to the dugout and bring the next batter out. I feel you have to count the strike out. Next batter up no count.
If you have ever read the NCAA rulebook you say to yourself...Oh...Okay...Thats seems normal. There are some goofy rules in there.

__________________
We Don't Look for Problems.....They find Us.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2005, 07:34am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb Re: Re: NCAA note.

Quote:
Originally posted by softball_junky
"Using the original sitch and this interpretation, B1 (with two strikes) would merely be a footnote in the scorebook. [Neither out, nor batting] B2 has one strike and the game proceeds."

This doesn't seem right. Then anytime you get two strikes, go to the dugout and bring the next batter out. I feel you have to count the strike out. Next batter up no count.
softball_junky,
Anytime?
Uh, no.
Refusing to bat could be considered to be an unsporting act.
That didn't happen, did it?
mick
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2005, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
I have B1 with 2 strikes (no memtion of ball count) and R1 safe at 3B.

Maybe she went to change bats. Call her back, she is entitled to finish
her at bat. You would not aware 1B if it was only ball three.
The problem with bringing her back is a pitch has been thrown to B2.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1