The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2005, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
The rule appears to say with 2 outs, the batter becomes a batter/runner only when first base is open.

Literally, the rule does say that, but it's wrong.

I wasn't reading it right. I need to work on my reading comprehension.

Not really. You're not the first to pose a question about this wording. The error has been in the book for years.

Many posters have offered substitute language, such as:

. . . When the catcher fails to catch the third strike before the ball touches the ground, unless

1. First base is occupied and
2. There are fewer than two outs

__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1