|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Hello and happy spring to all.   Our local youth fast pitch league has affiliated with ASA. While looking through the 2005 ASA rules book, I came upon something that I'm not real clear about. Specifically, I'm referring to Rule 8 -  Section 1 - Art B both (1) and (2). Btw, this is on page 102 of the ASA 2005 "Official Rules of Softball Team Edition". My understanding had always been that a batter becomes a batter/runner any time there's a dropped 3rd strike with first base open. However, the above cited rules left me with the impression that that was only the case with less than 2 outs. The rule appears to say with 2 outs, the batter becomes a batter/runner only when first base is open. Am I reading this correctly? Thanks in advance for any guidance you can provide. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Clueless,  Glad to have you around, but you are not reading that correctly - or at least not understanding what you're reading correctly. If, with less than 2 outs AND 1B is open at the time of the pitch....... OR With 2 out (and 1B is open or occupied) at the time of the pitch..... 
				__________________ Steve M | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Welcome Clueless. Yes,I believe you are mis-understanding the dropped third strike rule.The batter may attempt to advance when a dropped third strike occurs when first base is not occupied regardless of the number of outs.The batter may run on a dropped third strike with two outs even if first base is occupied.I hope this clears the rule up for you and again,welcome. Jeff NCAA Umpire NFHS Umpire ASA Umpire | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Thanks a million!   Yep, I wasn't reading it right. As soon as I read your replies, I knew where I was going wrong. I need to work on my reading comprehension. Thanks again. I will definitely be around and I'll be referring our league directors, coaches, players, and officials to this excellent site! | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			The rule appears to say with 2 outs, the batter becomes a batter/runner only when first base is open. Literally, the rule does say that, but it's wrong. I wasn't reading it right. I need to work on my reading comprehension. Not really. You're not the first to pose a question about this wording. The error has been in the book for years. Many posters have offered substitute language, such as: . . . When the catcher fails to catch the third strike before the ball touches the ground, unless 1. First base is occupied and 2. There are fewer than two outs 
				__________________ greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			I think of it as the D3K rule is in effect anytime 1st base is NOT occupied and anytime there are 2 outs.  That is two easy things for me to remember, somebody on 1st?  No, then d3k is on.  Yes-are there 2 outs? no-then no d3k, yes-d3k is on. | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |