The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   I have an ASA FP rules question. (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/19234-i-have-asa-fp-rules-question.html)

clueless Sun Mar 20, 2005 07:57pm

Hello and happy spring to all. :) Our local youth fast pitch league has affiliated with ASA. While looking through the 2005 ASA rules book, I came upon something that I'm not real clear about. Specifically, I'm referring to Rule 8 - Section 1 - Art B both (1) and (2). Btw, this is on page 102 of the ASA 2005 "Official Rules of Softball Team Edition".

My understanding had always been that a batter becomes a batter/runner any time there's a dropped 3rd strike with first base open. However, the above cited rules left me with the impression that that was only the case with less than 2 outs. The rule appears to say with 2 outs, the batter becomes a batter/runner only when first base is open.

Am I reading this correctly? Thanks in advance for any guidance you can provide.

Steve M Sun Mar 20, 2005 08:28pm

Clueless,
Glad to have you around, but you are not reading that correctly - or at least not understanding what you're reading correctly.

If, with less than 2 outs AND 1B is open at the time of the pitch.......

OR

With 2 out (and 1B is open or occupied) at the time of the pitch.....


mo99 Sun Mar 20, 2005 08:30pm

Welcome Clueless. Yes,I believe you are mis-understanding the dropped third strike rule.The batter may attempt to advance when a dropped third strike occurs when first base is not occupied regardless of the number of outs.The batter may run on a dropped third strike with two outs even if first base is occupied.I hope this clears the rule up for you and again,welcome.

Jeff
NCAA Umpire
NFHS Umpire
ASA Umpire

mo99 Sun Mar 20, 2005 08:33pm

Sorry,Steve answered your question while I was typing.

Jeff
NCAA Umpire
NFHS Umpire
ASA Umpire

clueless Sun Mar 20, 2005 09:38pm

Thanks a million! :) Yep, I wasn't reading it right. As soon as I read your replies, I knew where I was going wrong. I need to work on my reading comprehension. Thanks again. I will definitely be around and I'll be referring our league directors, coaches, players, and officials to this excellent site!

greymule Mon Mar 21, 2005 12:42pm

<b>The rule appears to say with 2 outs, the batter becomes a batter/runner only when first base is open.</b>

Literally, the rule <i>does</i> say that, but it's wrong.

<b>I wasn't reading it right. I need to work on my reading comprehension.</b>

Not really. You're not the first to pose a question about this wording. The error has been in the book for years.

Many posters have offered substitute language, such as:

. . . When the catcher fails to catch the third strike before the ball touches the ground, <u>unless</u>

1. First base is occupied <u>and</u>
2. There are fewer than two outs


DaveASA/FED Mon Mar 21, 2005 01:06pm

I think of it as the D3K rule is in effect anytime 1st base is NOT occupied and anytime there are 2 outs. That is two easy things for me to remember, somebody on 1st? No, then d3k is on.

Yes-are there 2 outs? no-then no d3k, yes-d3k is on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1