The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 12, 2005, 01:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally posted by SC Ump
As she is about one step from the dugout her coach said, "Run to first."
MORE FOOD FOR THOUGHT ON THIS

FED Rule 8-2-4 states that the B/R is out if she fails to advance to first base " and enters the team area" after, among other things, a dropped third strike. I don't know about ASA, but this doesn't say "leaves the field of play" as some have discussed. So, if she is one step from entering the dugout, is she not out for entering the "team area"?

I can find no other reference to "team area" in the book, although "dugout/bench" is mentioned several times. What is the difference? If there is no difference, then why doesn't it say a player must stay in the "team area" if she is ejected or restricted?

If there is a difference, then you never consider what happens if she enters the field to play defense without entering the "dugout/bench' since she entered the "team area" and is out.

Quote:
Shame on the defense for not knowing how to handle the situation.
Shame on the B/R for not knowing the situation also. Why more shame on the defense than the offense???
__________________
NAU
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1