The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2001, 10:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Speaking ASA

The time of the throw and the time the ball enters DBT is irrelevent. R1 is declared out as the closest runner to home plate at the time another runner which has already been put out interferes with the play. Right?






WRONG!

Unless the BR intentionally interfered with the play, there is no interference.

If R1 returns and touches 1B, he has successfully completed his tag up. However, in accordance with rule 8.6.G, when a ball leaves the playing area or becomes blocked, a runner is awarded two bases governed by the position of the runner when the ball left the fielder's hand.

Therefore, after touching 1B, R1 is entitled to touch 2B, 3B and Home in that order, without liability to be put out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1