The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2005, 12:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
ASA, NFHS rules.....

If a runner does not alter her path, can there be obstruction?

Play - R1 on second, clean hit to the outfield, R1 is waved home. F2 sets up clearly blocking home, but R1 never deviates from a direct line to the plate at full speed. As R1 starts to slide, but before making contact with F2, F2 catches the ball and tags R1 for the out.

In this play, I say no obstruction because even though F2 was blocking the plate without possession of the ball, her presence there did not cause R1 to alter her path or slow down.

Let's hear what everyone has to say.....
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1