The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 8
Exclamation

Let's try a little common sense here. First: Nowhere in any code does a player that is declared out have any rights to correct anything.** Once you're out, you're out.
Second: Once the half inning ends the ball is dead. A player cannot correct a base running error when the ball is dead UNLESS an award of bases occurs - not the case here.
Third: If the BU/PU failed to notice the miss at 1st, there's no doubt that the BR missed 1st when he runs back to tag up.

Play 1 - BR out (4th out appeal), no run scores

Play 2 - BR out (4th out appeal), no run scores

** there was some chatter on one of the baseball boards about 2 or 3 years ago about a player tagged out on the 3rd base side of 2nd while returning to 2nd trying to correct a base running error, ie: runner missed 2nd and immediately tried to return and correct it. Question was "does the defense lose their right to appeal the missed base since the runner was attempting correct his mistake?" It was highly debated with no firm conclusion. I've not seen it sense. However, that senerio was nothing like Play 1 or Play 2.

George in NC
__________________
GEO
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1