![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
How about under other system of rules, all of which seem to share some version of the Lookback Rule? NFHS, for instance? Well, let's put it this way - do you know ANY system of rules where this would NOT be considered a violation? Here's why I ask. I just attended a fastpitch softball coaches clinic in Nashville. One of the speakers, JoAnne Graf, the head coach at Florida State, was talking about baserunning. She apparently has a very fast team and she was talking about some of the aggressive maneuvers they do. One of those moves was exactly what I described. The batter reaches 1st ... overruns ... begins to return to 1st ... notices that nobody is covering 2nd ... and, just before she reaches the bag, she darts of for 2nd, catching the defense by surprise. She said that this is all legal, and is not a violation even though the pitcher may have the ball within the circle. I'm not very familiar with NCAA rules - so I just assumed she was correct. But I had my doubts. All us coaches were shooting glances at one another. You could just about read each other's mind, "Is that legal? Hmmm ... I wonder if we could do that in ASA? ... or High School ... or NSA ... or whatever?" Thanks! David Emerling Memphis, TN |
| Bookmarks |
|
|