![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So, again, if a substitute bats in the DP's spot, isn't it possible that the batter is actually substituting for the FLEX and *then* immediately batting in the DP's spot? Let's say that just prior to Donna batting, the defensive coach goes up to the umpire and makes a lineup change. Patty is substituting for Felicity. Therefore, Patty is the new FLEX. Fine. But now it's Donna's turn to bat. The coach NOW exercises his option for the FLEX to bat for the DP. That means Patty gets to bat. And Patty was the FLEX. So why can't Donna later return as the DP? It seems all the provisions are adhered to. Donna is returning to the SAME spot in the lineup. She is also returning into the SAME position ... DP. Patty, who originally entered the game as a FLEX, can now resume her previous position as FLEX and go into the 10th spot in the lineup, thus allowing her to continue to play defense. This is illegal? David Emerling Memphis, TN [Edited by David Emerling on Jan 20th, 2005 at 05:35 PM] |
| Bookmarks |
|
|