The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 14, 2001, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Thought I'd bring this beast back to life for an additional bit of discussion. The situation was that a batter was walked, was walking to 1B, beyond the 3-foot line, and F2 threw to fielder at 1B. The throw hits BR who is beyond the 3-ft line and still walking to 1B. The folks I was with in the hositality room while at an ASA school included 2 regional uic's, 1 state uic, several ISF umps, and me. The unanimous opinion was that there could be no legal play on BR until after she eached 1B, so this was a dumb move catcher and a live ball. In Pa, at a dinner tonight with my high school umpire chapter, we found that our state high school rules interpreter has a different opinion. According to him - and he's also on the NFHS rules committee - the BR is required to stay in the running lane even when awarded 1B, so this would be a dead ball with BR out on interference - all runners returning to base occupied at the time of interference. Interesting. Essentially the same rule in ASA, Fed, & NCAA but 2 rulings which are as different as they possibly can be.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1