View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 16, 2001, 10:58am
Roger Greene Roger Greene is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
I'd think you would have to consider several items.

Was the runner "running" to first as if she was going to attempt second or was she mearly stroling down the line removing her batting glove?

Was F3 in position to receive the throw?

Was the throw a quality throw?

Were other runners on base and were they leading off as intending a double steal?

All this being considered, you would use the totality of the circumstances to make your judgement. I know the Fed ruling, but I don't think the fact that the runner was out of the lane and was struck by a thrown ball is "always" interference. The rule itself does not speek to being hit by a thrown ball, but intefering with the fielding or throwing. (I've got no official ruling or cite, just common practice and history for this area,although I've never seen this excact play occur on a BOB.)

Roger Greene,
member UT

Reply With Quote