The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 14, 2001, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Cam,
I can see where this would generate a really interesting discussion. Was there a consensus at the end of the discussion?
As I see this, if this is before the 3-foot lane, then this must be a no-call. Since we're before the 3-foot lane, there is no requirement for the batter-runner to be anywhere - except on her way to the base.
If this happens past the 3-foot lane, I'm still going to have a no-call in this case. Looking in this year's NCAA book, your play does not meet the requirements of calling this interference. Rule 9, Section 9, Article d on page 88, in speaking of this runner's lane sez she must be "running". Your play has her walking.
I know that this is playing word games, but doing so provides a definitive answer. "Obviously" there is no intent to go beyond 1B prior to the bad throw, so without the bad throw, there is no play to be made at 1B.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1