The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Yes. As I remember, the second out is fairly new in ASA (past few years). Don't know whether USSSA or NSA have it.

Of course, every code I know of has a provision for interference with the obvious intent to break up a double play, whether ground ball or fly ball. ASA's second out on the fly ball does not require intent, however.

Some people have argued in these threads that they would not call interference on the following play:

Abel on 2B. Baker hits a pop that F5 camps under just inside the 3B bag. As the ball comes down, Abel slides directly into 3B and in doing so trips up F5.

I don't recall whether any consensus was reached on that play. I saw it once and did call interference, though F5 caught the ball anyway. I would call interference again, too.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1