The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 11:22am
goldcoastump
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
R1 runs into 1Bman attempting to catch a fair fly ball. If the fielder does not catch the ball, What happens? What if the 1Bman catches the ball anyway? I think I know the answer, just wanted see what some of you say.

This did not happen to me, I saw it in an assoc. email.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by goldcoastump
R1 runs into 1Bman attempting to catch a fair fly ball. If the fielder does not catch the ball, What happens? What if the 1Bman catches the ball anyway? I think I know the answer, just wanted see what some of you say.

This did not happen to me, I saw it in an assoc. email.
The interference happened immediately on the contact. Ball
dead, R1 out.

__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Doesn't matter if the ball is caught or not caught. Play is dead at instant of interference. R1 out, B-R to 1st.

However, if you think that R1, knowing that she was going to be caught off 1B and out on appeal, deliberately interfered, then you can also call the B-R out.

But anytime you have to judge "intent" you better has an action that is very obvious or you will have a hard time selling that you can read a players mind.

WMB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
In ASA, interference with a fielder attempting to catch a routine fly ball in the infield is a double play. Both runner and batter are out.

Interesting that in OBR, there are many criteria to apply in considering exactly how to call this play.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to pollywolly60
That's what I was thinking, Greymule. If I'm not mistaken, this is one of the major differences between ASA NFHS - one out in High School, two in ASA.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Yes. As I remember, the second out is fairly new in ASA (past few years). Don't know whether USSSA or NSA have it.

Of course, every code I know of has a provision for interference with the obvious intent to break up a double play, whether ground ball or fly ball. ASA's second out on the fly ball does not require intent, however.

Some people have argued in these threads that they would not call interference on the following play:

Abel on 2B. Baker hits a pop that F5 camps under just inside the 3B bag. As the ball comes down, Abel slides directly into 3B and in doing so trips up F5.

I don't recall whether any consensus was reached on that play. I saw it once and did call interference, though F5 caught the ball anyway. I would call interference again, too.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 28, 2004, 01:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
Yes. As I remember, the second out is fairly new in ASA (past few years). Don't know whether USSSA or NSA have it.
In USSSA, the second out is not automatic; the ump would have to rule intent to disrupt a potential double play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1