The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2004, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally posted by VaASAump
Quote:
Originally posted by scottk_61
When an obstructed runner has been put out, the ball is dead. This is why obstruction is called a DELAYED DEAD BALL.
The runner between 1st and 2nd should have been sent back to 1st.
I agree, but wouldn't you put the runner between 1st and 2nd on 2nd, since they are now forced due to BR becoming runner (D3K rule)?

Serg
No, the runner should not be entitled to advance further unless your judgement says the obstruction also affected that runner.
The way the sitch is written, the runner should return to the last base legally touched.

How would you come up with a way of explaining why that runner should be advanced to the next base?
Wouldn't that be over penalizing the defense?

__________________
ISF
ASA/USA Elite
NIF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1