The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 18, 2004, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
ASA 6(FP).11 DROPPED BALL

Quote:
If the ball slips from the pitcher's hand during the delivery, a ball is declared on the batter, the ball will remain in play and the runner(s) may advance at their own risk.
It is quite apparent that if the umpire judges the ball to have slipped, a ball is immediately ruled. If a ball is ruled, how can the batter have a right to hit it? Please note that the rule does not mention the direction or distance the ball must travel.

Of course, this would not apply if the umpire believes it was just a bad pitch and the ball did not slip from the pitcher's hand.

BTW, there is no such animal as "catcher's interference" in softball.



__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1