The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 05, 2004, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by emaxos
IMHO you made the right call. Runners should not run into a tag. By staying around 1st base, R1 may have put herself in jeopary but is not required to advance unless the BR attains 1st base. F4 had options to get one or two outs but was probably just dumbfounded when R1 didn't run. R1 was not required to provide a clear throwing lane for F4 and unless she took action to get in the way, there's no interference.
If both runners ended up on first, R1 is out because the BR has a right to 1st base.
That's my "unofficial" opinion, anyway.
Let's see what the experts say when they get up.
Speaking ASA

I agree, the call or non-call was correct.

However, just one thing I would like to point out. Even after the BR attains 1B safely, there is no rule requiring R1 to leave the base. Is the runner in jeopardy? Absolutely, even when in contact with 1B. Is the defense dumb for not making a play? Equally as absolute, though being 10YO, it probably is just lack of experience, not stupidity which brings such a play to the surface.

ASA occasionally does hold the defense responsible for making the right play and not offer free outs due to their lack of action.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1