The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2004, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Of course once again we acknowledge that the out at first is technically not a force out, and the BR does not meet the strict definition of a forced runner. However, it is virtually always treated as a force, and both rule and case book often refer to it as such.

I see no reason not to treat it like a force play in this case. Or, to please the purists, we can say that by returning toward home, BR has again placed herself in the position of having to reach 1B before a fielder with the ball touches the base.

BR gets a single, touches 1B, and then runs back toward home and stops in the baseline 6 feet from the plate. This is a tag play now?

Has ASA ever ruled on this?

__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1