The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 09, 2004, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
". . if the defense blocks the base prior to catching the ball, the "burden of proof", so to speak, is on the defense and that the assumed call will be obstruction on a close call."

As far as I am concerned, defenders do not belong in the basebath. If I see a defender set up there, I am getting ready to signal obstruction, and the only thing that will save the defense is if the ball arrives first.

There is no such thing as simultaneous arrival; the ball has to get there first. So the only "wreck" that I am going to see happens when the path of the ball pulls the defender into the runner, or if there is contact when the defender, with the ball, move into the runner for the tag.

WMB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1