The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 27, 2004, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 858
Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
Speaking ASA.

2004 change to rule 8-5B (obstruction), so the rule now reads:
Quote:
RUNNERS ARE ENTITLED TO ADVANCE WITHOUT LIABILITY TO BE PUT OUT. When a fielder not in possession of the ball or not in the act of fielding a batted ball, impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner who is legally running the bases. ...
OTOH, rule 8-7Q reads:
Quote:
THE RUNNER IS OUT. When a defensive player has the ball, or is about to catch a thrown ball, and the runner remains upright and crashes into the defensive player. ...
It would seem that the defensive player described in 8-7Q who is about to catch a thrown ball is guilty of obstruction according to the change in 8-5B.

I'm assuming this is an oversight. Am I right, or is there something I am missing?
Dakota,

I'm thinking 8-7Q was an oversight. Another example of expert craftmanship.

Michael
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1