The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 27, 2004, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
How would you rule on this scenario

ASA SP

R1 on 1st. BR hits a single. R1 rounds second on his way to third but fails to touch the base. Outfield attempts to throw the runner out at 3rd but the ball goes into DBT.

Now when do we announce the award?

Do we give the runner time to go back to touch 2nd?

I believe the rule book says (don't have it with me, this is from memory) that the runner must be given an opportunity to complete his base running responsibilities.

Is part of his responsibilites going back to touch 2nd?

If I award the 2 bases can he go back to touch 2nd, then go to third and then home?

If I award the two bases and he does not go back to 2nd as soon as he touches third he can not retreat to 2nd, is that correct?

If he does not retreat to touch 2nd, then the defense must appeal the out, correct?

Thanks!
Randall




Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1