The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 27, 2004, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
if he would had gone to 3rd then wanted to retreat all the way back to first..they are no longer allowed to do that due to rule change this past year ???. yes/no ?

The runner can retreat no matter how far he has progressed unless the ball goes into DBT.

If the ball is thrown (unintentionally) into DBT, the runner can still return, no matter how far he has advanced, unless, after the umpire makes the award, he proceeds to the next base from where he was when the umpire made the award.

Incidentally, OBR does differentiate between a simple miss of a base and a gross miss such as described in the original post. It still requires an appeal, though.

[Edited by greymule on May 27th, 2004 at 03:21 PM]
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1