The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2004, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Toon Army
The following occurred during a U-12 Girls Fastpitch game:

B1 hits ball down the line to F3. F3 has ball go off glove into foul territory. F3 recovers in time to grab ball in barehand and place ball in hand on the orange part of 1st base prior to B1 reaching the base. The umpire rules that B1 is safe due to F3 touching orange part of base and not the white part. The 2004 rule book has a section stating that on a play from foul territory that F3 may use the orange part of the base. Umpire rule that this would apply in the case of a dropped third strike and the throw coming from the catcher. If F3 reached across to the white part of the base then she would have created a safety issue with the runner, thus effectively negating the purpose of the double base.... The ruling had no effect on the outcome of the game. I am curious as to whether this was the correct call or not.
Speaking ASA.

On any play coming from the foul side on the 1B side of the field, the defense may use either portion of the double-base. The umpire misinterpreted the rule (8.2.M.3)

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1