The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2004, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 263
Error

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Skahtboi


From your thread, it sounds like there was a train wreck and
the runner was stopped short of the plate since the catcher was blocking the plate. If that was the case and the runner's team
was on the third base side of the field, you could have called her out as soon as she entered the dugout area.

[/QUOTE}


__________________
Nature bats last!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2004, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Willie:

Do you call ASA? I am wondering, because in this instance, ASA, NFHS, USSSA, and Dixie all treat the play the same way. For ASA reference, read 8:7:I and the effect. This is a runner missing a base...also known as an appeal play. (By the way, the rule referenced specifically involves missing home plate.)There is nothing that an umpire can do in this case unless the appeal is made, then you rule on it. That was what my original post referred to. An umpire cannot, however, tip off either the offense or the defense that a possible appeal could exist, as has been referenced in subsequent posts.

You are making a mountain out of a mole hill here.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2004, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 263
NFHS

Quote:
Originally posted by Skahtboi
Willie:

Do you call ASA? I am wondering, because in this instance, ASA, NFHS, USSSA, and Dixie all treat the play the same way. For ASA reference, read 8:7:I and the effect. This is a runner missing a base...also known as an appeal play. (By the way, the rule referenced specifically involves missing home plate.)There is nothing that an umpire can do in this case unless the appeal is made, then you rule on it. That was what my original post referred to. An umpire cannot, however, tip off either the offense or the defense that a possible appeal could exist, as has been referenced in subsequent posts.

You are making a mountain out of a mole hill here.
All I do is NFHS.
__________________
Nature bats last!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2004, 09:14pm
VaASAump
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Taken from the NFHS Softball Umpires Manual:

Appeal at the Plate

If a runner misses home plate and the catcher misses the tag, the umpire should hesitate slightly to allow the players to finish the play, either the runner reaches to tag the plate or the catcher reaches to tag the runner. If no tag is made, the umpires should declare the runner SAFE. If a proper appeal play is made by the fielder, by either touching the runner or the plate with the ball prior to the runner touching the plate, the umpire should then declare the runner OUT.

There are two reasons why we (NFHS) advocate this procedure: 1) We do not want to tip either team that the play may not be over, and 2) a runner is assumed SAFE until put out. If proper appeal is not made, the runner is SAFE.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1