View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2004, 10:51am
Skahtboi Skahtboi is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Willie:

Do you call ASA? I am wondering, because in this instance, ASA, NFHS, USSSA, and Dixie all treat the play the same way. For ASA reference, read 8:7:I and the effect. This is a runner missing a base...also known as an appeal play. (By the way, the rule referenced specifically involves missing home plate.)There is nothing that an umpire can do in this case unless the appeal is made, then you rule on it. That was what my original post referred to. An umpire cannot, however, tip off either the offense or the defense that a possible appeal could exist, as has been referenced in subsequent posts.

You are making a mountain out of a mole hill here.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote