The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 28, 2004, 07:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Rick wrote:


Rick,
The runner was not tagged out beyond the base she was protected.
Remember, this is a DDB call. She was not going to reach 3B
as stated in originial post. The play was still live when she
returned to 2B. Therefore she was not tagged out
beyond the protection the umpire had preceived. She was tagged
after retouching 2B and prior to reaching 1B, and OBS was between
1B and 2B. She cannot be put out between these bases.

JMHO.

I understand the part about the not being tagged out beyond the base she was protected to. BUT once she got to the base she would have been protected to, the OBS signal should have been dropped, as well as the penalty for OBS. The OBS is now a moot point. It is still a live ball at this moment. The key question to my posts I guess, is why would the OBS go back into effect after it became a moot point? I'm not questioning the rule about not being put out between the bases she was obstructed on, I'm just wondering why the OBS went back into effect.

__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1