The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 28, 2004, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Robmoz
There was no unusual throw to pull F3, he simply used the colored portion. I rule R1 safe since F3 made no contact with white portion and there were no unusual circumstances.

I think my answer is found at Rule 8-M.2
Your call is correct, but the rule citation is not. I assume you meant 8.2.M.2.

BTW, an off-line (errant) throw to first does NOT give the fielder the right to use the colored portion of the bag. A "errant" throw is defined (by Henry Pollard) as one which cannot be caught. If the fielder releases from the bag into foul territory to retrieve the ball, the defender may then use the colored portion of the base to put out the BR.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1