View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 28, 2004, 11:44am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Robmoz
There was no unusual throw to pull F3, he simply used the colored portion. I rule R1 safe since F3 made no contact with white portion and there were no unusual circumstances.

I think my answer is found at Rule 8-M.2
Your call is correct, but the rule citation is not. I assume you meant 8.2.M.2.

BTW, an off-line (errant) throw to first does NOT give the fielder the right to use the colored portion of the bag. A "errant" throw is defined (by Henry Pollard) as one which cannot be caught. If the fielder releases from the bag into foul territory to retrieve the ball, the defender may then use the colored portion of the base to put out the BR.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote