The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Double-bag first base (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/13418-double-bag-first-base.html)

Robmoz Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:24am

ASA Men's Slowpitch:

B1 grounds to F6 who then throws to F3. F3 touches colored bag before B1 arrives but not the white bag (double-bag first base). B1 then arrives and properly touches colored bag. Is B1 safe since F3 did not touch the white portion prior to B1 arriving at the bag?

Ref Ump Welsch Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:29am

Need a little more information on this play. Where did the throw go? Did it pull the first baseman over to the colored side of the base or was it a throw that should have been playable on the white side?

Robmoz Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:07am

There was no unusual throw to pull F3, he simply used the colored portion. I rule R1 safe since F3 made no contact with white portion and there were no unusual circumstances.

I think my answer is found at Rule 8-M.2

Dakota Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:37am

Good call.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:44am

Quote:

Originally posted by Robmoz
There was no unusual throw to pull F3, he simply used the colored portion. I rule R1 safe since F3 made no contact with white portion and there were no unusual circumstances.

I think my answer is found at Rule 8-M.2

Your call is correct, but the rule citation is not. I assume you meant 8.2.M.2.

BTW, an off-line (errant) throw to first does NOT give the fielder the right to use the colored portion of the bag. A "errant" throw is defined (by Henry Pollard) as one which cannot be caught. If the fielder releases from the bag into foul territory to retrieve the ball, the defender may then use the colored portion of the base to put out the BR.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1