The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2004, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 369
This happened the other day. Girl hits ball to F6. F6 fumbles with the ball a few times. Runner gets to first 2-3 steps before ball. Runner runs through first, turns left, and with head down starts walking immediately to first. F3 has ball when coach says "tag her". Runner looks up to see F3 about to put a tag on her and makes a reactionary move toward second. Tag is applied.

I call time and put runner on first. Coach wants the out because she made the move to second. I say the move was just a reaction to a needless tag and that the runner was walking straight to first before being startled. No real argument although he still pleaded his case between innings. Do you think I was correct or was the move to second, even though a reaction, enough to allow for a tag out? By the way, JV level ball (if that is pertinent).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2004, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
IMO, correct call. The runner places herself in jeopardy when, in the umpire's judgment, she makes an attempt to 2nd. "Moving toward 2nd" (as in your case) is not necessarily an "attempt."
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2004, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Wink

Seems correct. Could really sssstretch it and call OBS on
coach...
Same results, 1B for runner.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2004, 10:43pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb Hmmmm.

Quote:
Originally posted by Little Jimmy
This happened the other day. Girl hits ball to F6. F6 fumbles with the ball a few times. Runner gets to first 2-3 steps before ball. Runner runs through first, turns left, and with head down starts walking immediately to first. F3 has ball when coach says "tag her". Runner looks up to see F3 about to put a tag on her and makes a reactionary move toward second. Tag is applied.

I call time and put runner on first. Coach wants the out because she made the move to second. I say the move was just a reaction to a needless tag and that the runner was walking straight to first before being startled. No real argument although he still pleaded his case between innings. Do you think I was correct or was the move to second, even though a reaction, enough to allow for a tag out? By the way, JV level ball (if that is pertinent).
Little Jimmy,
That's a tough call.
Coach interference or offensive stupidity.
What if the pitcher or second baseman, yelled, "Tag 'er!" ? I bet she'd a been out.

Methinks, putting the B/R on base is age dependent.

mick
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2004, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
I don't think this is that tough a call at all.

A step toward second is not an attempt to advance to second. An attempt to avoid a tag is not an attempt to advance to second. Safe at first.

IMO, it would require something that looked like the runner thinking she was going to get tagged, and abandoning the attempt to return to first base and deciding to head toward 2nd, for this to be an out.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2004, 09:41am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
I don't think this is that tough a call at all.

A step toward second is not an attempt to advance to second. An attempt to avoid a tag is not an attempt to advance to second. Safe at first.

IMO, it would require something that looked like the runner thinking she was going to get tagged, and abandoning the attempt to return to first base and deciding to head toward 2nd, for this to be an out.
"Runner looks up to see F3 about to put a tag on her and makes a reactionary move toward second." - Little Jimmy

Oh!, I didn't realize it was merely a step.
I didn't see it.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2004, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Good point - maybe I read that differently than you.

LJ - can you describe the "reactionary move"?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2004, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 190
I think it was a good call. I'm sure I would have left her on first also
__________________
Bob
Del-Blue
NCAA, ASA, NFHS
NIF
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2004, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 369
Reactionary move in this case was girl thinking there was no play on her, walking with head down back toward first, and looking up to see F3 one foot away reaching to tag her. Her first and only move was a shuffle step toward second done in surprise as much as anything. The whole incident took about a second. It was then that the defensive coach starts celebrating the supposed out. That's when I killed the play and put her on first.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 14, 2004, 06:39pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by Little Jimmy
Reactionary move in this case was girl thinking there was no play on her, walking with head down back toward first, and looking up to see F3 one foot away reaching to tag her. Her first and only move was a shuffle step toward second done in surprise as much as anything. The whole incident took about a second. It was then that the defensive coach starts celebrating the supposed out. That's when I killed the play and put her on first.
Good call, Little Jimmy.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 15, 2004, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Little Jimmy
Reactionary move in this case was girl thinking there was no play on her, walking with head down back toward first, and looking up to see F3 one foot away reaching to tag her. Her first and only move was a shuffle step toward second done in surprise as much as anything. The whole incident took about a second. It was then that the defensive coach starts celebrating the supposed out. That's when I killed the play and put her on first.
Good call, Little Jimmy.
Agreed - good call. From your description - even though she stepped toward 2nd - she made no attempt (even for a second) to go to second base.

-Kono
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 17, 2018, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Texas
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Little Jimmy View Post
Reactionary move in this case was girl thinking there was no play on her, walking with head down back toward first, and looking up to see F3 one foot away reaching to tag her. Her first and only move was a shuffle step toward second done in surprise as much as anything. The whole incident took about a second. It was then that the defensive coach starts celebrating the supposed out. That's when I killed the play and put her on first.
absolutely correct call
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 17, 2018, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,312
Nice to be reminded about some old friends!
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2018, 04:32pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Nice to be reminded about some old friends!
Yeah, really old. As in over 14 years old.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1