The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2004, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by FUBLUE
IMO, she has already returned to first after the overrun. She was legally off the base with liability to be put out. NO she never even looked at second, but here's a question: If B-R reaches first base, returns to first base, then steps off the base without a dead ball being called, is subsequently tagged, then would we call her out?
Since you said IMO... I'm still not sure if she actually touched 1st again after the overrun.

If she did, then that is a horse of a different color - she has returned to 1st, and as you say, just stepped of the base and is subject to being tagged.

OTOH, if the coach told her she was out, and she headed back to the dugout without actually returning to 1st, then IMJ, she is still protected (made no attempt at 2nd).

I'm not trying to split hairs (i.e. she stepped over the base - that kind of thing) - if she "returned to 1st," then she was off base and in jeopardy. That call makes sense, but it doesn't seem to me the rules clearly support placing her in jeopardy because her path back to first was not direct.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1