The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2004, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Unless I really, really wanted to end the game (JK!), I would not have called the BR out.

Speaking ASA, Mike cited the rule where the BR places herself in jeopardy if she attempts 2nd. Obviously, this runner did not attempt 2nd.

Assuming she did not enter the dugout, she is still protected (IMO). My reasoning is:

1) While it is true that 8-8-I prescribes a situation of returning "directly" as when the BR is not out,

2) 8-7-H gives the only condition for the out call - attempt of 2nd base.

There is no place in the rule book where it states that the BR is out for returing indirectly to 1st after a legal overrun. You can't even apply the "more than 3' out of the basepath when a play is being attempted" since the basepath is defined as the line from the runner to the base.

Summary: BR was not out. OC only half right (sort of) - turning toward 2nd isn't the issue - making an attempt at 2nd is. DC is grasping at straws (and wrong).

Mike's right - it is dicey, and killing the ball would have helped, but BR safe is still correct (IMJ).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1