The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2004, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally posted by Roger Greene
For a bat hitting a batted ball you can also invoke Fed 7-3-6
"...If a whole bat is thrown and interferes with a defensive player attempting a play, interference shall be called."

No intention is required. You can even declare 2 outs if it prevented a double play.

Roger Greene
deja vu!
I don't think Rule 7-3-6 applies to this kind of play. It is about the bat actually going toward a fielder like when it slips out of the batter's hands and flys toward F1 or F5. The word "whole" is in the book because it differentiates a whole bat from a broken piece of a bat, also covered in 7-3-6, which is not interference. This case did not sound like the bat went toward a fielder.
Also it is about a "thrown" bat; whereas this case is apparently covered by 7-4-1-k and it's case F.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1