The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Apr 08, 2004, 10:49am
Official Forum Member

Cool

Finally!

Called my first game of the season yesterday afternoon. HS game. 10th grade team, but hey, I was on the ball field! Besides, since this is my first year officially registered for HS ball, I'm willing to "pay my dues" before varsity assignments come my way. (Been "pure" ASA up until this year, with just a season of Jr Hi games 2 years ago as a favor to the local school.) ASA doesn't start for another 5 weeks or so.

Nice warm & sunny afternoon, just a bit windy. A well played game - finished in 6 1/2 innings, 3-2 final score with the final out on the visitors having already scored 1 run in the 7th and with runners on 2nd and 3rd - ended in a strike out. Took about 1:20.

The only remotely unusual call was a nice dribbler of a bunt that just barely moved in front of the plate, batter dropped the bat right in front of the plate and hit the ball. I ruled batter out, since the "drop" seemed to me to be intentionally placed.
Old Thu Apr 08, 2004, 11:29am
In Memoriam

Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
The only remotely unusual call was a nice dribbler of a bunt that just barely moved in front of the plate, batter dropped the bat right in front of the plate and hit the ball. I ruled batter out, since the "drop" seemed to me to be intentionally placed.
Dakota,
The "bit windy" was just put there to keep you humble.
Dunno, if I'll ever get an outdoor game.

Of course, I didn't see the bat dropped, but it seems to me that since the drop only seemed to be intentionally placed, that may have been quite a tough decision that you had to make in 0.2 seconds.
mick
Old Thu Apr 08, 2004, 11:34am
Official Forum Member