The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 24, 2004, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
WMB,
Your answer is obviously correct if the batted ball is interfered with over foul territory, but wouldn't there be a difference if the ball is "in front of the plate", ie: over fair territory? The ball is dead immediately, and therefore does not have the chance to become foul. (We can't see into the crystal ball to determine that absent the interference F2 would have touched the ball in fair territory!)

If a runner interfers with a fielder attempting to field a fair batted ball, then the runner is out and the batter is awarded first base. Therefore the batter has completed her at bat, even if the out for interference was the 3rd out. In this case the lead off would be the next batter in the batting order.

Roger Greene

[Edited by Roger Greene on Mar 24th, 2004 at 10:49 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1