The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2004, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Is the following play any different in theory?

Abel on 3B, Baker on 2B, Charles on 1B, 2 outs. Daniels gets an infield single on a roller that F2 picks up down the 1B line. Everyone moves up a base. Baker, now standing on 3B after Abel has scored—and without getting time out from the umpire—runs halfway back to 2B to pick up his hat. F2 throws to F5, who steps on 3B for the reinstated force on Baker.

Yes, the third out was a force play, but the run scored legally before Baker gave the defense an opportunity for the third out. The reinstated force is a new play. Anyway, that's my argument for counting the run.

Dakota, this ruling came after viewing the various replays from several angles.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1