The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2004, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Lightbulb

Thanks. Revised version:

The keys to DP/FLEX are:
A) no player can bat in different batting order slots during a game

B) making it known before the game with the lineup and
being sure all changes are reported to and tracked by the PU

C) knowing the provisions:
1) DP starts on offense, FLEX starts on defense
2) if not in starting “function”, not in game
3) the DP and FLEX players can't be in the batting order at the same time
4) the FLEX can only bat in the DP slot
5) the DP can play defense at the same time as the FLEX – any position
6) in #5, the player not playing defense still bats

C) DP/Flex switches change the number of players in the game; but do not change the batting order

D) DP/FLEX replacing each other are not “substitutions”, but when either leaves the game and returns, that is a reentry.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2004, 06:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orange County NY
Posts: 698
Send a message via Yahoo to ASA/NYSSOBLUE
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
I'm have a hard time understanding why there is still a discussion on the CR.

The rule for the CR is the fielder walking away from the F1 and F2 positions ONLY may have a CR if those players, and only those players, reach base of their own accord the following half inning.

And yes, there is the top of the 1st exception where only the two players who have a 1 and 2 next to their name in the defensive position column have access to a CR if those players reach base of their own accord.

It doesn't make any different whether it is a DP, FLEX or anything else.

This is much like the IFR. The rule stands alone. The use and enforcement don't affect the application of any other rules. (IFR exception: the intentional drop is ignored when the IFR is applied.)



One question Mike- I would assume then that the CR is NOT available in which F1 or F2 is the runner that starts at 2B at the time when the tie-breaker comes into effect? I am assuming that because she did not reach that base on 'her own accord'...thanks!

Thanks also for your previous interp on the CR/DP- I actually got a NYSSO clinican AND an ASA Elite ump who are members in our chapter on this!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2004, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by ASA/NYSSOBLUE
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
I'm have a hard time understanding why there is still a discussion on the CR.

The rule for the CR is the fielder walking away from the F1 and F2 positions ONLY may have a CR if those players, and only those players, reach base of their own accord the following half inning.

And yes, there is the top of the 1st exception where only the two players who have a 1 and 2 next to their name in the defensive position column have access to a CR if those players reach base of their own accord.

It doesn't make any different whether it is a DP, FLEX or anything else.

This is much like the IFR. The rule stands alone. The use and enforcement don't affect the application of any other rules. (IFR exception: the intentional drop is ignored when the IFR is applied.)



One question Mike- I would assume then that the CR is NOT available in which F1 or F2 is the runner that starts at 2B at the time when the tie-breaker comes into effect? I am assuming that because she did not reach that base on 'her own accord'...thanks!

Thanks also for your previous interp on the CR/DP- I actually got a NYSSO clinican AND an ASA Elite ump who are members in our chapter on this!
Yes, as long as the last player due to bat in that half inning finished the previous half inning in either the 1 or 2 position.

Clarifying what I mean by "her own accord". A team cannot use a re-entry of F1 & F2 for the purpose of gaining the use of a CR.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 13, 2004, 07:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota

If ya hafta splain 'em they ain't funny. Oh, well.

[Edited by Dakota on Feb 11th, 2004 at 01:24 PM] [/B]
No, actually it is still funny. Very good. Sorry I missed it. (Now the local Mensa chapter will probably T.P. my yard.)
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1